A Philosopher's Blog

2016

Posted in Philosophy by Michael LaBossiere on January 1, 2016

Today marks the start of 2016. One tradition of New Year’s Eve is to make resolutions. One tradition of the New Year is to break those resolutions. I am proud to say that I kept my 2015 resolution and plan to keep my 2016 resolution. The secret to this success is, of course, accepting a very low standard for resolutions.

In 2015 I resolved to not die in 2015. Up until midnight, the year could have won by killing me. But, the year failed. Once again. As such, I have made my 2016 resolution: do not die in 2016. I plan to make this sort of resolution every year.

This resolution has many virtues, but I will only consider the two most important. The first is that I really do not need to do anything-not dying is a fairly automatic sort of thing. Mostly.

Obviously enough, one year (hopefully not 2016, but I’ve had a pretty good run) will end with my resolution being broken-or, rather, I will end before the year does. This is where the second virtue comes into play. When I finally break the resolution by dying, I will not be around to face the judgment of those who rather like to judge people for breaking New Year’s Resolutions. Also, even such judgmental folks might feel it a bit too harsh to judge a person for breaking a resolution to not die. Or maybe not. People can be rather harsh.

On a more positive note, here is to a great 2016. Still waiting for that moon base-I really want that before the robot apocalypse. So, Elon Musk, I am counting on you to get it done before Google’s kill bots kill us all.

My Amazon Author Page

My Paizo Page

My DriveThru RPG Page

Follow Me on Twitter

 

 

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ajmacdonaldjr said, on January 1, 2016 at 6:46 pm

    Part 1: “How the CIA made Google” — https://medium.com/@NafeezAhmed/how-the-cia-made-google-e836451a959e

    Part 2: “Why Google made the NSA” — https://medium.com/@NafeezAhmed/why-google-made-the-nsa-2a80584c9c1

  2. Eric Teplitz said, on January 1, 2016 at 7:26 pm

    Here’s to a(nother) year of not dying. And, even better, one of truly living!

  3. TJB said, on January 2, 2016 at 12:16 am


Leave a Reply

