A Philosopher's Blog

Congratulations, Mr. President

Posted in Politics by Michael LaBossiere on November 6, 2012

I am writing this on election day, so I do not know who has won. However, no matter who is elected I will still hold to these words.

Congratulations on your victory, Mr. President. You have a tough time ahead of you. We are still involved in war. While the economy has improved since 2008, people are still suffering. We can also expect trouble from Iran and other parts of the world.

As always, you can count on me to support you when I have a good, logical reason to do so. My commitment has consistently been to the good of the country and not to a particular political party or ideology.

Naturally, you can also count on me to be critical when I have good, logical reasons to do so. I am not mindlessly committed to a party nor in the thrall of a specific ideology. As such, when I have a legitimate disagreement I will make it clear in a rational and fair way.

I want you to succeed in bringing America out of the economic trouble that remains and I want you to lead us safely and boldly through the times of trouble that are sure to come.

I believe in America and I believe that we can work together to do what must and should be done.

Congratulations-enjoy your victory, for soon you must get to work.

Tagged with: , , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. W.J. McCabe said, on November 6, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    I like the sentiments in this post. Gracious and bipartisan and critical all at the same time. I think one of the things we have to work on prior to the next election is our election system.

    http://in127words.blogspot.com/2012/11/election-day-time-to-settle.html

  2. WTP said, on November 6, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    My 14 year old nephew couldn’t have said it better…Of course he’d be more believable…

  3. […] Congratulations, Mr. President (aphilosopher.wordpress.com) […]

  4. magus71 said, on November 7, 2012 at 6:14 am

    4 more years….

    • Michael LaBossiere said, on November 7, 2012 at 6:50 am

      True. But on behalf of all Americans, I say “thank God we won’t have to see those campaign ads for a while.”

      • T. J. Babson said, on November 7, 2012 at 7:53 am

        Nasty campaign and I’m glad it is over. Soon the chickens will be coming home to roost.

      • biomass2 said, on November 7, 2012 at 9:12 am

        Here in PA campaigns for Tom Smith ran constantly. He put $17 million of his own money into the campaign and lost decisively.

    • Michael LaBossiere said, on November 7, 2012 at 6:52 am

      Romney made a good run-and really made it a close race.

      • magus71 said, on November 7, 2012 at 7:04 am

        One of the best run campaigns in memory. He’ll likely be in for 2016.

        • Anonymous said, on November 7, 2012 at 9:08 am

          His wife says he won’t run again if he loses. . .

  5. biomass2 said, on November 7, 2012 at 9:09 am

    His wife says he won’t run again if he loses. . .

    • biomass2 said, on November 7, 2012 at 9:31 am

      Sorry, magus, forgot to type my screen name in @9:08


Leave a comment