A Philosopher's Blog

Happy Thanksgiving!

Posted in Miscellaneous by Michael LaBossiere on November 22, 2012
English: Oven roasted turkey, common fare for ...

 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Happy Thanksgiving!

I plan on doing my traditional Thanksgiving: running the 15K race in the Tallahassee Turkey Trot, dropping off clothes for charity, then cooking a turkey that will not give me food poisoning. I’ll also grade some papers-which hurts less when I’m stuffed with turkey and pumpkin pie.

As a descendant of John Howland and Native Americans of New England, Thanksgiving is something of a family holiday. I am thankful that the Mayflower made it-otherwise I would not exist. And what a loss that would be.

I am also thankful that I am not a vegetarian, because turkey is so damn good. At least when it doesn’t give me food poisoning.

Here is to everyone having a good day with family, friends and food. Be sure to think of those less fortunate as well.

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Turkey Time « KandJColorado said, on November 22, 2012 at 11:03 am

    [...] Happy Thanksgiving! (aphilosopher.wordpress.com) [...]

  2. [...] Happy Thanksgiving! (aphilosopher.wordpress.com) [...]

  3. [...] Happy Thanksgiving! (aphilosopher.wordpress.com) [...]

  4. [...] Happy Thanksgiving! (aphilosopher.wordpress.com) [...]

  5. Nal said, on November 22, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    Thankful to whom?

  6. urbannight said, on November 22, 2012 at 9:07 pm

    I swear it was the turkey at work that made me so sick last week. I had excellent turkey today. It was a good day. I’m thankful for some of the wonderful recipes you have given us.

  7. jjaneswift said, on November 22, 2012 at 11:55 pm

    Woke up giving thanks for sunshine and the ability to choose to give thanks. Going to bed giving thanks for flannel sheets, fuzzy family, and the ability to play word games.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,002 other followers

