A Philosopher's Blog

Working in the Rain

Posted in Miscellaneous by Michael LaBossiere on September 25, 2011
Rain, Rainy weather

Image via Wikipedia

While Florida is the sunshine state, it rains here fairly often. It seems to rain most often when I have outside chores I need to do. For example, I needed to do a bit more painting because of my new siding and awoke to the sound of rain. Fortunately, some of what I had to paint is completely protected by the overhang in the back. So, I got on my painting clothes and got it done. I had some non-painting tasks to do (repairing a gutter drain, replacing some mulch, weeding and so on), so I went and did those as well.

I do this sort of thing fairly often, as long as the temperature is such that I won’t get hypothermia and as long as the lightning is not dropping in for a visit. Naturally, I do get some odd looks and some commentary from folks driving by. After all, sensible people stay inside when it rains.

Some folks will ask me how I can be comfortable in wet clothes. This is a fair question and I, like most people, do not enjoy sitting around in wet clothes. However, years of running have conditioned me to simply ignore wet clothing as long as I am active-it does not bother me at all. In fact, being soaking wet is actually nice in the Florida heat-I’m cooler and I’m not losing as much water due to perspiration. I even find the rain pleasant, especially the sound. There is even a certain beauty to a rainy day-one that seems lost on many people. I do, of course, have to carefully clean, dry and oil any metal tools I use in the rain. But, this is only a minor inconvenience.

One person did ask me, some time ago, if I did it as sort of a “man over nature” thing. I suppose that might be a factor. After all, I do like to overcome difficulties-even something as minor as dealing with rain.  Then again, I also like it because being in the rain makes me feel more a part of the natural world. In fact, I don’t quite get why some people are so rain averse. We are, after all, a fairly waterproof species (other than any wicked witches among us, of course).

Enhanced by Zemanta
One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ajmacdonaldjr said, on September 25, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    This post reminds me of my stay in Panama, when I was in the military. Toward the end of my 40 day “visit’ to that tropical nation, our training included a week-long mission through the jungle and, as you might imagine, in that daily, rainy, hot, and humid land, after a week, we were pretty tired of being soaked and of wearing soaked clothing, and the prickly heat that went with it. I could only imagine the misery some of the many people I have known who served in Vietnam must have suffered (including our platoon sergeant, who had done three tours as a LRRP Ranger, and whose long range recon patrols lasted weeks at a time). It sure was nice to get back to the base, take a shower, and put on some clean, dry clothing. Remember the “rain scene” from Forrest Gump? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2ihL_FrFPs


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,088 other followers

