A Philosopher's Blog

Ramblings on DIY, With Some Useful Advice (Maybe)

Posted in DIY/Recipes, Miscellaneous by Michael LaBossiere on June 26, 2011
Basic DIY Tools

Image via Wikipedia

Thanks to the budget cuts, I do not have a summer class. I have been using my time off to crank out books to sell on Amazon and to do a variety of DIY projects. Interestingly enough, I suspect that the value of the work I will do over the summer will exceed what I would have made while teaching.

Thanks to inhaling paint fumes for about two weeks, I am now prone to some writing rambles. I did, however, refresh my memory of painting and paints. I learned once again that paint adheres best to human skin. This has always surprised me a bit. After all, when you paint a surface, it is supposed to be dry, free of oils and so on. When I paint in Florida, my skin is far from dry and is rather oily. Yet, the damn latex paint just sticks and dries amazingly well on my skin. The very same paint that will peel up in the slightest moisture coming from wood will cling tenaciously to me over the course of a ten mile run in 90+ degree weather (I did this as a test). I am, of course, sweating like mad. After painting in a confined space, the fumes got me thinking that perhaps human skin should be vat grown and used as a wall covering. After I got some fresh air, I considered that maybe I should speak to a counselor about such ideas. Or a venture capitalist.

Speaking of bathrooms, I removed all the fixtures, towel racks and hooks when I painted. Some of these I replaced with new ones that came with handy paper templates. However, I had some hooks and other items that either did not come with templates or whose templates were long gone. Rather than marking my newly painted wall, I decided to make my own templates. While blank paper can be used for this, as a gaming nerd I realized that graph paper would be ideal for laying out a template. After all, it has a nice grid that makes it very easy to lay out where the holes should be drilled. So, I placed the hooks on the graph paper, lined them up, spaced them out, marked the holes and had a template. I used some painter’s tape to attach it to the wall, checked it with my level, drilled and installed. For those of you who are not math or gaming nerds, here is a pdf file of theĀ  graph paper I created using Freehand. Use it to create templates or dungeons.

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. FRE said, on June 26, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    There are preparations available to prevent paint and other substances from sticking to skin. How well they work I don’t know. I’ve found that to prevent grease from sticking to skin, it works fairly well to apply liquid soap to the skin first.

  2. magus71 said, on June 27, 2011 at 3:55 am

    Remember our lovely house painting job in Old Town?

  3. T. J. Babson said, on June 27, 2011 at 10:18 am

    How to philosophize with a hammer?

  4. chamblee54 said, on June 27, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    This is slightly off topic, but I found this… http://thenewinquiry.com/post/6797940267/the-history-of-dialogue-other-peoples-papers …. and thought you would enjoy it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,030 other followers

