A Philosopher's Blog

Happy Easter!

Posted in Humor, Religion by Michael LaBossiere on April 24, 2011
Pink Marshmallow Peeps

Image via Wikipedia

While I am not religious in the traditional sense, I am a big fan of Easter. This is because of my belief in Peeps and my position as a bishop in the Peepist faith. Each year I acquire Peeps for the masses (well, the masses in my Sunday gaming group) and dispense them with the ritual words “eat this, for it is air and sugar, plus some chemicals you probably don’t want to know about.” The Peeps are consumed, typically with beer, and the sugar rush begins. Just as God intended.

I have heard some rumors of a War on Easter, which I presume is being waged as a follow up to the War on Christmas. Since I am very much for Easter, I will endeavor to protect the holiday from those who would war on it. You can rest assured I am doing my part: I have stockpiled Peeps, jelly beans, chocolate and Cadbury Eggs and will be (as always) dispensing them to my friends for Easter. Anyone who refers to it as “Spring Festival” or anything other than “Easter” shall receive but one Peep, delivered into their left nostril. I’d go with two, but I don’t think that Jesus would approve of me whacking anyone with Peeps on his resurrection day.

Enhanced by Zemanta
10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. T. J. Babson said, on April 24, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Mike, since you are a declared Peepist…

  2. Asur said, on April 26, 2011 at 3:11 am

    Happy Easter, Mike.

    I hold my peeps in reserve from the previous Easter each year; they’re even better stale and crunchy imo.

    Cadbury Eggs happen to be one of my comfort foods–I may raid your stash of them, as it seems I’ve struck out on my university applications for the fall. =/

    • Michael LaBossiere said, on April 26, 2011 at 1:50 pm

      I’ll stock up. :)

    • T. J. Babson said, on April 26, 2011 at 5:55 pm

      “…as it seems I’ve struck out on my university applications for the fall…”

      Asur, this seems very hard to believe…

      • Asur said, on April 26, 2011 at 9:44 pm

        Ah, well, I’m not a traditional student and I was in a guaranteed transfer program from my community college into a very good university, so I used it as my baseline and sent the rest of my applications off to stronger schools.

        Unfortunately, I didn’t notice that one of the classes I’d taken to fill the transfer program requirements didn’t meet those requirements, so my transfer didn’t go through; I’m 0/4 on the others, with the last one–my longshot school, no less–promising decisions this Friday.

        It would be ironic to be accepted there, but not to the less prestigious programs.

        • Asur said, on April 30, 2011 at 1:44 am

          Ironically, the final swing was a homerun–my longshot school was the only one to accept me. They deferred me from the Fall until this coming Spring, but even so…it looks like I’ll be competing with the writhing masses for face time with Hubert Dreyfus, Barry Stroud, and John Searle. :D

          • T. J. Babson said, on April 30, 2011 at 5:44 pm

            Congratulations, Asur. My faith in our system has been restored.

            • Asur said, on April 30, 2011 at 6:10 pm

              Thanks =)

              Err, wait…our system of isolating idealogues within the ivory tower, where they can’t do any harm? >.>

            • Michael LaBossiere said, on May 2, 2011 at 9:16 pm

              It is quite an effective prison. :)

          • Michael LaBossiere said, on May 2, 2011 at 9:16 pm

            Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,043 other followers

