A Philosopher's Blog

On Being Freshly Pressed

Posted in Technology by Michael LaBossiere on September 27, 2010
WordPress
Image via Wikipedia

Like most folks on WordPress, I see the Freshly Pressed blogs each time I log in. If a title or graphic interests me, I will go and check it out. I was recently pleased to see one of my own posts listed as Freshly Pressed.

There are two main effects of being Freshly Pressed. The first is that the hits to the blog go way up. Second, that post is flooded with comments.

In regards to the blog hits, it might interest some to know that it is a spike in two ways. First, there was a massive increased of hits from previous days. Second, the hits are a spike in that they are very large on the pressed post but there is little spread to the other posts. As such, it seems that people come to see the post and then most depart without looking around much more.

I did notice that the hits were greater on the second day of being Freshly Pressed. But this might be due to the day of the week rather than due to the second day being a spike day. I suspect that the long term impact of being pressed will be very modest or even minimal. My 15 minutes of blog fame, so to speak.

As far as the comments go, I suspect that people are mainly drawn to comment on a Freshly Pressed post out of a desire to funnel traffic to their own blogs. This is, of course, sensible and all part of the blogging game. However, some people are clearly interested in the post itself and have some interesting and relevant things to say. As with the hits, the comments also seem to be a spike. They increased dramatically and center on the post. While I did get some extra comments on my other posts, the comments are clearly focused where they can do other bloggers the most good-on the Freshly Pressed post.

I’m reasonable sure that the hits and comments will soon return to their previous quantities: good, but hardly remarkable. On one hand, I will be sorry to see my fleeting minor fame fade away. On the other hand, being Freshly Pressed is a bit like hosting a free beer keg party: people you don’t know show up, tap the kegs and leave…most likely to never be seen again now that the kegs are dry. While having such a party is fun for a while, having one everyday would get a bit tiring.

In any case, I appreciate the folks at WordPress picking my post and I am glad that so many people stopped by to read, comment, and plug their own blogs.

Enhanced by Zemanta
7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. shane3x said, on September 27, 2010 at 9:00 am

    I find the freshly pressed section helps me find people who post great stuff to read that I might not have found otherwise. Even if a small percent of people who find you this way stick around that’s more people then the day before.

  2. idontcare-ish said, on September 27, 2010 at 11:36 am

    “I suspect that people are mainly drawn to comment on a Freshly Pressed post out of a desire to funnel traffic to their own blogs.”

    I suspect you are actually right. But like you said, some people also have interesting things to say so I guess that’s okay.

  3. chamblee54 said, on September 27, 2010 at 11:52 am

    Some blogs are uptight about people using comments to funnel traffic to their blog. I think you hit it right when you said it was part of the game.
    I have bookmarked this facility, and plan to drop in from time to time. A few more pictures to go with the text would be good. The 720 pixel columns should be put to good use.
    The post about topless women would have been a good place to start.
    chamblee54

  4. The Mental Secretary said, on September 27, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    I will admit that I usually am not very impressed with a lot of Freshly Pressed posts and I refrain from looking around those blogs due to my first impression.

    But since philosophy is a subject dear to my heart, I looked around your blog and ended up subscribing to it. Which is why I am leaving this comment. :)

  5. ravespot said, on September 29, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    You’re right, but your experience is hardly surprising. The reality is that we all have so much to read every day, and it just keeps growing. I recently started using Twitter, which has added a whole new layer of things to read on top of my usual RSS feeds, regular news sites, personal and professional email, and random stuff. I mean really, anyone who can actually “surf” the Web these days isn’t using the damn thing properly. That aquatic metaphor is surely a thing of the past; it should be replaced by something far more terrestrial and burdensome. We’ve gone from soaring over the waves to being buried alive.

    But that’s a blog in itself. In the meantime I’ll continue to drop in here from time to time, just for the hell of it.

  6. [...] On Being Freshly Pressed (aphilosopher.wordpress.com) [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,087 other followers

