A Philosopher's Blog

Two Rejected Resolutions

Posted in Humor by Michael LaBossiere on December 29, 2007

 

Since people tend to do dismally at self-criticism, I decided to ask people what New Year’s resolutions I should make. So far I have two that I must reject: “be less philosophical” and “cease to be a smart ass.” Fortunately, I can reject both at once.

 

My Aristotelian essence includes being a smart ass. Thus, being a smart ass is part of what it is to be me. I cannot not be me. So I must be a smart ass. Thus, I must reject the proposed resolution to cease to be a smart ass.

 

But, you ask, what about the request to be less philosophical?  Well, being a smart ass,  I think I’ll just say “no.” If it is good enough for Nancy Reagen, it is good enough for me.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Douglas said, on January 4, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    You should really reconsider the smart ass resolution–it would do the world some good.

  2. mlabossi said, on January 5, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    No.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,061 other followers

