A Philosopher's Blog

Why I Run…sort of. :)

Posted in Running by Michael LaBossiere on August 31, 2007

People sometimes ask me why I run. My true answer is a very personal thing, but when I’m in a smart-ass mood (which I usually am) the exchange goes like this:

Non-runner: “Why do you run?”
Me: “You are asking the wrong question.”
Non-runner: “So, what is the right question?”
Me: “The right question is not to ask me why I run. The right question is to ask yourself why you do not run.”
Non-runner: “Why are you such a smart ass?”
Me: “You are asking the wrong question…”

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amy said, on August 31, 2007 at 3:25 am

    Absolutely, fabulous post! I really need to try this out on the next nonrunner who poses this question.

  2. Lester Hunt said, on December 27, 2009 at 3:48 am

    Okay, so, why do you run?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,056 other followers

